School of Molecular and Life Sciences: Home

The library home page enables clients to conduct keyword searches across all information resources that the library has acquired or subscribed to.  There are six ways of doing a UL library quick. Select one of the options at the top of the search box. The provided options work as follows:

1. WC Discovery - enables a search through 

Your search engine for searching across all print and online Library information resources, rather than limiting your serach to a particular type of resource. This  search include:

• Print and electronic books,
• Print and electronic journals,
• Online Articles,
• Library Catalogue,
• Print and electronic databases,
• and much more...

1. Repository - enables a search through the UL institutional repository. The repository archives and provides open access to digitised special collections and research materials of the University of Limpopo and affiliated institutes.
2. Catalogue - enables a search through the UL catalogue collection (printed and electronic books and other ibrary resources) 
3. Databases - enables access to our online databases
4. Exam Papers - enables browsing and access to the university's past exam question papers from 2010
5. Google Scholar - enables a search through a web search engine that indexes and provides access to scholarly literature across many disciplines.

Registered students can access the UL wireless network on campus by selecting the Eduroam network. 

How to connect:

• Turn on your device Wi-Fi, 
• Click on your device's Wi-Fi icon, 
• Select 'Eduroam' from the list and click on 'Connect',
• When the Fortinet login window opens type your student/staff number and password to connect to the Wi-Fi.

At time, library clients may experience challenges accessing the UL Library electronic system, applications and platforms offering electronic resources. These problems may be caused by factors such as: online resources/vendors platforms updates, individual devices or PCs set up, web browser issues, account related problems,temporarily unavailability of resources, and many other issues. UL Library assist in urgently resolving these issues by liaising with clients and service providers and other stakeholders involved.

This LibGuide offers recommendations, updates and advice on developments related to UL Library Systems, Applications and Online services. The LibGuide also provide recommendations and possible solutions to commonly-reported problems and Frequently Asked Questions related to the Library Systems, Applications and Online resources.

If you encompass access issues please report them to library.systems@ul.ac.za.

The Library is embarking on Bibliographic Instruction (BI) programme that will run throughout the year. BI is an instructional program designed to teach Library users how to search and retrieve the information they need quickly and effectively. The training covers the Library's system of organising materials, and specific resources and finding tools such as Library catalogue, Library  Subject  databases,and  RefWorks (Reference organising tool).

The training is very essential for the production of high quality research and therefore, amongst others, the training aim to achieve the following objectives

• To train Library users to be independent in searching information
• To learn new skills and strategies to make effective use of online information
• To identify research aiding tools that offer the most comprehensive resources for research literature.
• To locate peer reviewed journals that meet academic quality norms.
• To locate scholarly journals licensed from many of both local and international most prestigious academic publishers.
• To empower students with self-confidence to become lifelong learners.
• To enhance the quality of students’ academic work.
• Receive answers to any challenge they might be experiencing in the use of the Library

The training will take place as follows:

Date          : Every Friday
Time          : 09h00 - 13h00
Venue       :  Library Electronic Classroom

Enquiries   : Mr. KG Senoa
Telephone : 015 268 2968
Email          : koketso.senoa@ul.ac.za 

Enquiries    : Mr KS Shai

Telephone  : 015 268 2868

Email          : kgaogelo.shai@ul.ac.za 

You can access eBooks through the :

• Library All Resources Search
• Library Catalog

Accessing via the Library Catalog:

• Select the Advanced keyword option from the catalogue page
• Under format select E-Books  

Accessing via the All Resources Search:

• Conduct a keyword search
• Limit your search results by:
  • Held By Library
  • Format 

You can also select an eBook platform below to conduct searches directly:

• AccessMedicine - Over 95 core biomedical and health sciences textbooks, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, Williams Obstetrics, and the Current Diagnosis & Treatment series.
• AccessPharmacy - Books and references on pharmacy education. 
• ClinicalKey -  More than 1000 eBooks in medicine and surgery.
• Ebook Central -  More than 1.2 million eBooks from more than 930 leading publishers covering all academic disciplines
• eBooks on EBSCOhost - Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of academic subjects, including Behavioral Science, Business, Technology, Science, Literature, and Humanities
• Elsevier Book Series -  In-depth overview of topics, offering lengthy review articles which include a full account of ‘past, present and future’ in interdisciplinary areas.
• GeoScienceWorld -   Over 2120 collaborative and comprehensive eBooks on research and communications in the Earth Sciences.

EBook Collections Quick Comparison Chart

See tutorials below on how to conduct searches in these platforms 

At time, library clients may experience challenges accessing the UL Library electronic system, applications and platforms offering electronic resources. These problems may be caused by factors such as: online resources/vendors platforms updates, individual devices or PCs set up, web browser issues, account related problems,temporarily unavailability of resources, and many other issues. UL Library assist in urgently resolving these issues by liaising with clients and service providers and other stakeholders involved.

This LibGuide offers recommendations, updates and advice on developments related to UL Library Systems, Applications and Online services. The LibGuide also provide recommendations and possible solutions to commonly-reported problems and Frequently Asked Questions related to the Library Systems, Applications and Online resources.

If you encompass access issues please report them to library.systems@ul.ac.za.

Publication Finder allows you to search or browse all publications made available to you by your institution, regardless of the vendor or provider.

Publication Finder features a responsive Auto complete feature that displays titles containing your search terms as you type them. When the specific title you are searching for appears in the list, simply click the title to view the available options for that title in a result list.

Searching for publications :

1. Enter your search criteria in the Search box. (e.g. title, subject, or ISSN/ISBN) and the click on

• To search for a specific publisher use field code PB (e.g. PB Macmillan). 

​

Note: If the 'Keep Search Limiters' option below the box is selected, you can do further searches using the same limiters.

OR

          2. Browse by Disciplines / Subjects list provided 

Note: Each discipline includes a number that indicates the number of related publications in your institution's holdings. e.g. Dentistry (129)

• ​When results are displayed, you can refine them by applying search limiters and facets under 'Refine Search' in the left-hand column. e.g. you can limit your results to a specific 'Resource Type', such as journals by selecting the journal link. For more options click on the 'Show More' link

     3. Use the 'Search within Publication' box to search for full text titles within the publication.

Note: 'Search within Publications' is available for indexed publications only. 

OR

     4. Click on the 'Full Text Access' link to view where a specific title can be accessed, as well as the publication years which the university have 

         full text access to 

    5. Select the link with your required coverage dates (years)

Note: Some publications have a delay period of at least a year before availing full text articles. 

 6. Select the publication year 

 7. Select the Volume and Issue 

 8. Navigate to your required title and click on the  link to view the article 

For more detailed instructions on how to search for publications please see the EBSCO tutorials below:

• Retain the right to freely share and reuse their research as they wish.
• Achieve maximum visibility of their outputs, through open dissemination via the channels they prefer.
• Publish in the journal of their choice, participating in the publishing services they want.
• Gain immediate, free and unrestricted access to all of the latest, peer-reviewed research.
• Support Open Access and Open Science with no need to alter their research and publication practices.

• Take a central role in scholarly communications on behalf of their institution in the emerging open access environment.
• Consolidate their partnership with researchers, collaborating in the full life cycle of their research and publication process.
• Satisfy the demands of the new generation of researchers, bringing them unencumbered access to everything.
• Demonstrate new value to their administration in managing the strategic interests of their institution.
• Cultivate opportunities for innovation and leadership in shaping the role of the library of the future.

• Maximize their profile and scholarly impact, assuring that all outputs are freely and immediately available, in their repositories and everywhere researchers want them.
• Exert a direct market influence on publishers to control the costs of scholarly publishing.
• Liberate the distorted scientific information market, enhancing scientific exchange and facilitating innovation for the advancement of knowledge.
• Ensure transparency and accountability of the use of their funds and the results of the research they have financed.

• Secure a viable transition roadmap to the emerging Open Access environment in a win-win collaboration with their customer base.
• Generate strategic partnerships with Institutions, Libraries and Researchers, building trust and seeding opportunities for further integration.
• Create the conditions to shift their efforts to technological innovation in information and research services rather than having to expend efforts in fortifying paywalls.
• Gain more opportunities for new market entrants as funds currently locked in “big deals” are liberated and made available to support other publishing initiatives and services.

Science and Society at Large will finally gain open access to the latest scientific research and the foundations for an innovative and transparent new world order in scholarly communications.