The student understands the homeostatic role of the cardiovascular system, the basic principles of cardiovascular transport, and the basic structure and function of the components of the system
This workshop was a continued outgrowth from the Roundtable's first workshop when its members realized that the challenges facing those in the field of environmental health could not be addressed without a new definition of environmental health-one that incorporates the natural, built, and social environment.
The Physiology of Physical Training provides complete coverage of the physiological and methodological aspects of physical training, providing essential knowledge for anyone involved in exercise physiology.
Molecular Biology of Aging, the latest volume in the Progress in Molecular Biology and Translational Science series, focuses on placental development and disease.
A man cannot become a competent surgeon without the full knowledge of human anatomy and physiology, and the physician without physiology and chemistry flounders along in an aimless fashion, never able to gain any accurate conception of disease, practicing a sort of popgun pharmacy, hitting now the malady and again the patient, he himself not knowing which.
This is the first book for nurses on how the environment affects nursing practice. Nurses should be concerned with environmental issues for two reasons: 1
The bestselling environmental health text, with all new coverage of key topics Environmental Health: From Global to Local is a comprehensive introduction to the subject, and a contemporary, authoritative text for students of public health, environmental health, preventive medicine, community health, and environmental studies.
This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book as well as new materials (outlined above) designed to produce a more rounded learning experience.
"In this new edition, we have cast a fresh eye on the pedagogical approach taken in each chapter and section, and have focused particularly on including only material that is of the highest yield.
Water quality is fundamental for our health and affects the environment we share with other animals including marine, freshwater and terrestrial species.
Physiology serves as a foundation that students of medicine must comprehend before they can understand the derangements caused by pathology. This text of cardiovascular physiology emphasizes general concepts and regulatory mechanisms
The Crustacea is one of the dominant invertebrate groups, displaying staggering diversity in form and function, and spanning the full spectrum of Earth's environments. Crustaceans are increasingly used as model organisms in all fields of biology, as few other taxa exhibit such a variety of body shapes and adaptations to particular habitats and environmental conditions
The next case study in this book shows how bodies regulate the amount of fat using a complex interaction of proteins that function as a lipostat, a self-regulating fat maintenance system. Finally, the book provides an understanding of why some species live long lives while others die after very short lives, and under what conditions each situation is favored.
2 v. (xxxiii, 1092 p.) : ill. ; 29 cm.
xiii, 341 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
Contributors; Symbols and abbreviations; 1 Understanding cardiovascular magnetic resonance; The principles of magnetic resonance; Components of a scanner; Image generation; Other aspects of image generation; Magnetic field around a scanner; Technical challenges of cardiac imaging; Types of cardiac imaging; Static magnetic resonance sequences; Cine imaging; Artefacts; Magnetic resonance contrast agents; Cardiac spectroscopy and non-proton imaging; 2 Scan set-up and optimization; Magnetic resonance safety; Optimizing the patient in the magnet; Patient anxiety and claustrophobia.
Research methodology : a step-by-step guide for beginners by 
It is also available online.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
xxix, 734 pages : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 29 cm
1. The study of body function -- Introduction to physiology -- Homeostasis and feedback control -- The primary tissues -- Organs and systems -- 2. Chemical composition of the body -- Atoms, ions, and chemical bonds -- Carbohydrates and lipids -- Proteins -- Nucleic acids -- 3. Cell structure and genetic control -- Plasma membrane and associated structures -- Cytoplasm and its organelles -- Cell nucleus and gene expression -- Protein synthesis and secretion -- DNA synthesis and cell division -- Interactions --
Structure and function of cells of the nervous system -- Structure of the nervous system -- Psychopharmacology -- Methods and strategies of research -- Vision -- Audition, the body senses, and the chemical senses -- Control of movement -- Sleep and biological rhythms -- Reproductive behavior -- Emotion -- Ingestive behavior -- Learning and memory -- Human communication -- Neurological disorders -- Schizophrenia and the affective disorders -- Anxiety disorders, autistic disorder, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, and stress disorders -- Drug abuse.
xx, 293 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
xxvi, 334 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
324 p. : ill. ; 28 cm. + 1 box of colored pencils.
Unit I. Basic Cell Processes: Integration and Coordination -- Ch. 1. Introduction to Physiology -- Ch. 2. Atoms, Ions, and Molecules -- Ch. 3. Cells and Tissues -- Ch. 4. Cellular Metabolism -- Ch. 5. Membrane Dynamics -- Unit II. Homeostasis and Control -- Ch. 6. Communication, Integration, and Homeostasis -- Ch. 7. Introduction to the Endocrine System -- Ch. 8
x, 213 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
xxiv, 612 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
xiii, 341 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
Includes bibliographical references (p. 498-507).
xxxiv, 1441 p. : ill. + 1 CD-ROM (4 3/4 in.)
xiii, 421 p., [32] p. de làm. : ill. ; 29 cm.
Includes bibliographic references.
xi, 524 p. : ill. ; 27 cm.
xxviii, 770 p. : ill. (chiefly col.) ; 29 cm.
over title: An illustrated review of anatomy and physiology. The cardiovascular system.
Originally published by HarperCollins College Publishers
xiii, 314 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
Includes bibliographical references (p. [217]-223) and index.
Rev. ed. of: Nutrition and diet therapy / Corinne Balog Cataldo. 6th ed. c2003.
Table of contents http://www.loc.gov/catdir/toc/fy0801/2007930095.html
Levels of organization. Introduction to human anatomy and physiology -- Chemical basis of life -- Cells -- Cellular metabolism -- Tissues -- Support and movement. Integumentary system -- Skeletal system -- Muscular system -- Integration and coordination. Nervous system -- The senses -- Endocrine system -- Transport. Blood -- Cardiovascular system -- Lymphatic system and immunity -- Absorption and excretion.
122 pages : illustrations
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
xxiii, 325 p. : ill. ; 21 cm.
Includes bibliographical references p. [319] and index.
xxvi, 626 p. : ill., appendices, 28 cm.
xiv, 429 p. : ill.
xiii, 238 p. : ill.
xvi, 432 p. : ill. ; 25 cm. + 1 CD-ROM (4 3/4 in.).
xxiv,119 p. : col. ill.
x, 221 pages : illustrations (black and white) ; 25 cm
xx, 410 pages : illustrations, maps ; 28 cm
iv, 1038 p. : col. ill. ; 28 cm.
10th ed., [international ed.]
The Institutional Repository houses the electronic thesis and dissertations. The Institutional Repository archives and provides open access to digitised special collections and research materials of the University of Limpopo and affiliated institutes. To access the repository, click the link http://10.1.254.27/
Illustrated Physiology by 
Neurophysiology in Neurosurgery by 
Enzymes For Carbohydrate Engineering by 
