As a textbook, Molecular Biology and Biotechnology has always been immensely popular. Now in its fourth edition, it has been completely revised and updated to provide a comprehensive overview and to reflect all the latest developments in this rapidly expanding area.Written by recognised experts, the book aims to identify the impact that molecular biology has had on the development of biotechnology, with each of the nineteen chapters describing a specific subject area relevant to the subject. The impressive breadth of coverage includes areas such as plant biotechnology; food technology; vaccine development; the production of transgenic plants and animals; and the addition of an appropriate and timely new chapter devoted to bioinformatics. Presenting information in an easily assimilated form, Molecular Biology and Biotechnology makes an ideal undergraduate text. It will be of particular interest to students of biology and chemistry, as well as to scientists from outside the field requiring a rapid introduction to the subject.
Microbiology is the study of microorganisms, a large and diverse group of microscopic organisms that exist as single cells or cell clusters; it also includes viruses, which are microscopic but not cellular
The biotech industry is a complex, rapidly evolving, and critical industry. The industry holds great commercial and societal promise, but it is also filled with hype, confusion, and risks
After World War II, several late-developing countries registered astonishingly high growth rates under strong state direction, making use of smart investment strategies, turnkey factories, and reverse-engineering, and taking advantage of the postwar global economic boom
As an authoritative guide to biotechnology enterprise and entrepreneurship, a "Biotechnology Entrepreneurship and Management "supports the international community in training the biotechnology leaders of tomorrow.
Preserving the Promise: Improving the Culture of Biotech Investment critically examines why most biotech startups fail, as they emerge from universities into an ecosystem that inhibits rather than encourages innovation
Designed for advanced undergraduate students, graduate students, and environmental professionals
The Advances in Applied Microbiology series, first published in 1959, continues to be one of the most widely read and authoritative review sources in microbiology
Medical Biochemistry is supported by over forty years of teaching experience, providing coverage of basic biochemical concepts, including the structure and physical and chemical properties of hydrocarbons, lipids, proteins, and nucleotides in a straightforward and easy to comprehend language.
In particular we recognise those whose previous contributions have been taken on by new authors and thank them for their diligence in the past. We are particularly grateful to Sharon Koo, Felicia Lim and Fiona Price of University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust for developing many of the clinical scenarios. As frontline clinical microbiologists their insights have been invaluable in bringing infective agent sections authored by non-clinical colleagues into greater clinical perspective.
The Manual of Commercial Methods in Clinical Microbiology 2nd Edition, International Edition reviews in detail the current state of the art in each of the disciplines of clinical microbiology, and reviews the sensitivities, specificities and predictive values, and subsequently the effectiveness, of commercially available methods - both manual and automated
Designed to inform and inspire the next generation of plant biotechnologists Plant Biotechnology and Genetics explores contemporary techniques and applications of plant biotechnology, illustrating the tremendous potential this technology has to change our world by improving the food supply. As an introductory text, its focus is on basic science and processes.
This reference answers the most important questions that form the foundation of Microbiology within 6 laminated pages.
xxvi, 246 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
2nd ed.
410 p. : ill., ports.
1 online resource (v, 819 p.) : ill.
1 online resource (xxviii, 403 p.) : ill. (some col.)
1 online resource (1 v.)
ix, 75 leaves : colored illustrations, maps + 1CD.
The Researcher's Toolkit is a practical rather than an academic text for all those undertaking, perhaps for the first time, small-scale research.
This text is intended for an introductory course in bio metabolism concludes with photosynthesis. The last sec chemistry. While such a course draws students from vari tion of the book, Part IV, TRANSFER OF GENETIC INFOR ous curricula, all students are presumed to have had at MATION, also opens with an introductory chapter and then least general chemistry and one semester of organic chem explores the expression of genetic information.
xi, 582 p., 5 p. of plates : ill. (some col.) ; 29 cm.
Plant Biochemistry provides students and researchers in plant sciences with a concise general account of plant biochemistry
Toxicology is a comprehensive text for researchers and graduate students in toxicology and public health. It addresses every aspect of the field, starting with the fundamentals and ...
1 online resource (v, 819 p.) : ill.
Microbiology and Parasitology : Questions and Answeres by 
Microbiology Handbook of fish and seafood by 
xviii, 373 p. : ill. ; 23 cm.
Also available online.(eBook)
xx, 272 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
xxiv, 742 p. : ill.
3rd Edition.
xxii, 980, [101] pages : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 29 cm
vii, 166 p : ill. ( chiefly col.) ; 28 cm.
xviii, 1186 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 29 cm + 1 computer optical disc (4 3/4 in.).
xxix, 1230 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
xv, 1028 p. : ill.
xiii, 876 p. : ill. ; 28 cm.
xviii, 422 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
xv, 479 pages : illustrations (some colors) ; 24 cm
xxxi, 576 p. : col. ill. ; 27 cm.
xii, 313 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
1030 pagina's : illustraties ; 28 cm.
tekst txt rdacontent/dut
zonder medium n rdamedia/dut
band nc rdacarrier/dut
Includes bibliographical references and index.
xxxix, 1367 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 29 cm.
xix, 291 p. : ill.
xvii, 219 p., [8] p. of plates : ill. (some col.) ; 25 cm.
1 v. (various pagings) : ill. (some col.) ; 28 cm.
xi, 225 pages ; 29 cm
1 v. (various pagings) : ill. (chiefly col.), col. maps ; 29 cm.
xxii, 343 p. : ill.
ix, 249 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
xxvii, 469 p. : ill.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
ix, 490 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
xix, 411 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
xv, 750 p. : ill. (chiefly col.) ; 29 cm.
1 volume (various pagings) : illustrations (some color) ; 29 cm
xiii, 605 p. : ill. ; 27 cm.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
x, 612 p.
xiv, 490 pages : illustrations ; 27 cm
viii, 248 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
Includes bibliographies and indexes.
1 v. (various pagings) : ill. (some col.) ; 25 cm.
3 volumes (xxxiii, 1890, 46 pages) : illustrations (some color) ; 29 cm
text txt rdacontent
xviii, 360 p., 10 p. of plates : ill. (some col.) ; 25 cm.
xii, 187 pages : illustrations (chiefly color), color maps ; 24 cm.
xviii, 841 p., [12] p. of plates : ill. (some color) ; 26 cm
xxi, 859 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
xv, 416 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
Pt. 1. Structure and function of enzymes. An introduction to enzymes ; The structure of proteins ; The biosynthesis and properties of proteins ; Specificity of enzyme action ; Monomeric and oligomeric enzymes
1st ed., rev. 4th impr.
xvi, 349 p. ; 25 cm.
xv, 349 p. ; 23 cm.
Includes index.
xix, 409 p., [16] p. of col. plates : ill. (some col.) ; 24 cm.
xxii, 845 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
xii, 746 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
xvii, 700 p. : ill.
3rd ed.
xix, 413 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 29 cm.
The Institutional Repository houses the electronic thesis and dissertations. The Institutional Repository archives and provides open access to digitised special collections and research materials of the University of Limpopo and affiliated institutes. To access the repository, click the link http://10.1.254.27/
