For decades conservation has been based on the donor-driven principle. It hasn't worked. For centuries, environmental pollution or degradation has been addressed by the same attitude: the 'Polluter Pays' principle.
Edward O. Wilson
He was born in Birmingham, Alabama, in 1929. He is currently Pellegrino University Research Professor & Honorary Curator in Entomology of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard. He is on the Board of Directors of the Nature Conservancy, Conservation International & the American Museum of Natural History.
The beautiful tropical dry forest of northwest Costa Rica, with its highly seasonal rainfall and diversely vegetated landscape, is disappearing even more rapidly than Costa Rica's better-known rain forest, primarily because it has been easier to convert to agriculture.
Are humans too good at adapting to the earth's natural environment? Every day, there is a net gain of more than 200,000 people on the planet--that's 146 a minute.
Parks face intense pressure from both environmental and developmental perspectives to conserve biodiversity and provide economic opportunities for rural communities
In Ghost Bears, R. Edward Grumbine looks at the implications of the widespread loss of biological diversity, and explains why our species-centered approach to environmental protection will ultimately fail.
This is the first volume to provide a comprehensive review of this increasingly important crop. It covers research and production practices from around the world, including all of the major avocado growing regions. Topics include history and distribution; botany and taxonomy; climate and soil requirements; genetics, breeding, and biotechnology; cultivars and rootstocks; flowering, pollination, fruit set and development; pests and diseases; and harvest and postharvest technology
The 7-volume Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Second Edition maintains the reputation of the highly regarded original, presenting the most current information available in this global
Bonnie B. Burgess is an adjunct instructor of Biodiversity and Wildlife Conservation in Johns Hopkins University's Advanced Academic Programs, and of Environmental Sciences at Marymount University. She has been a public educator at the Smithsonian National Zoological Park since 1995. Burgess holds an MS in Environmental Sciences and Policy from Johns Hopkins University.
This book examines four examples of animal physiology that illustrate emergent properties in whole organisms. The first example shows how mammals coordinate the activity of all their cells using a daily rhythm. The second case explains an apparent contradiction that happens every time a woman gets pregnant and delivers a healthy baby—how the immune system tolerates a foreign tissue such as the fetus.
Any serious student attempting to better understand the nature, methods and justification of science will value Alex Rosenberg's updated and substantially revised Third Edition of Philosophy of Science: A Contemporary Introduction. Weaving together lucid explanations and clear analyses, the volume is a much-used, thematically oriented introduction to the field.
1 online resource (xx, 512 p.) : ill.
1 online resource (xxiii, 517 p.) : ill. (some col.)
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Nature of forest canopies / Nalini M. Nadkarni ... [et al.] -- Tropical microclimate considerations / Stephen R. Madigosky -- Quantifying and visualizing canopy structure in tall forests
Part I. Enzymology of Oil-contaminated Soils. -- -- Part II. Enzymology of Soils Affected by Industrial Emissions. -- -- Part III. Enzymology of Technogenic Soils.
1 online resource (xvi, 392 p.) : ill.
Plant Cell Biology is a semester long course for undergraduates and graduate students which integrates mathematics and physics, two years of chemistry, genetics, biochemistry and evolution disciplines.
1 online resource (xx, 742 p., [32] p. of plates) : ill. (some col.), maps (some col.)
1st ed.
Managing pig health and the treatment of disease : a reference for the farm by 
220 pages : color illustrations, maps ; 30 cm.
text txt rdacontent
ix, 180 pages : illustrations, map ; 20 cm.
text txt rdacontent
x, 113 p. : ill.
viii, 438 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
Brief history of a concept: why be concerned by biological diversity? -- Biological diversity: what do we know? -- The mechanisms at work in the diversification of life -- The species richness of natural communities as a result of equilibrium/non-equilibrium processes -- Biological diversity and the functioning of ecological systems -- The dynamics of biological diversity and the consequences of human activities -- The dynamics of biological diversity and implications for human health
xi, 80 p. : illustrations
xiii, 221 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
The evolutionary history of species is traditionally represented using a rooted phylogenetic tree. However, when reticulate events such as hybridization, horizontal gene transfer or recombination are believed to be involved, phylogenetic networks that can accommodate non-treelike evolution have an important role to play. This book provides the first interdisciplinary overview of phylogenetic networks.
Allele frequencies, genotype frequencies, and Hardy-Weinberg equilibrium -- Genetic drift and mutation -- Coalescence theory : relating theory to data -- Population subdivision -- Inferring population history and demography -- Linkage disequilibrium and gene mapping -- Selection I -- Selection in a finite population -- The neutral theory and tests of neutrality
v, 346 p. : ill., map ; 25 cm.
x, 337 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
xvi, 655 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 26 cm
Fundamentals. History (Aristotle ; Theophrastus ; Pierre Belon ; Carolus Linnaeus ; George Louis Leclerc, Comte de Buffon ; Jean-Baptiste Lamarck ; Georges Cuvier ; Etienne Geoffroy Saint-Hilaire ; Johann Wolfgang von Goethe ; Lorenz Oken ; Richard Owen ; Charles Darwin ; Stammbaume ; Evolutionary taxonomy ; Phenetics ; Phylogenetic systematics
xiii, 311 pages : illustrations, map ; 25 cm
xi, 202 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
Phylogeography is a discipline concerned with various relationships between gene genealogies - phylogenenics - and geography." "Phylogeography captures the conceptual and empirical richness of the field, and also the sense of genuine innovation that phylogeographic perspectives have brought to evolutionary studies.
xvi, 493 p. : ill. ; 25 cm.
3 v. : ill., maps ; 28 cm
ix, 310 p. : ill., maps ; 25 cm.
410 p. : ill., ports.
Quantitave applications in the social science : Sage university paper ; 23
xii, 316 p.
xiii, 285 p. : ill., maps ; 24 cm.
2nd improved ed. OR Includes bibliographical references and index.
vi, 484 p. : ill. ; 28 cm.
xx, 812 pages : illustrations, map ; 25 cm
2nd ed.
Understanding toxicology -- Sites of action of chemicals found in the workplace -- Chemical group toxicology -- Application of toxicological information -- Sources of toxicological information.
Ecology of fishes : content and scope -- Aquatic evolution, origins, and affinities -- Aquatic environment -- Diversity 1 : chordates to sharks -- Diversity 2 : teleostomes to bony fishes -- Diversity 3
xix, 569 pages : illustrations (some color), color maps ; 24 cm
xvi, 531 p. : ill., maps, plans ; 24 cm.
vi, 689 p. : ill. 20 cm.
ix, 453 : ill. ; 28 cm.
122 pages : illustrations
text txt rdacontent
x, 392 pages illustrations (some color) 24 cm
Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
ix, 449 pages ; 26 cm
xx, 448 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
xvi, 313 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 26 cm.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
xv, 438 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
320 p. : ill., maps ; 25 cm.
xix, 413 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 29 cm.
The Institutional Repository houses the electronic thesis and dissertations. The Institutional Repository archives and provides open access to digitised special collections and research materials of the University of Limpopo and affiliated institutes. To access the repository, click the link http://10.1.254.27/
Plant Genome, Biodiversity and Evolution by 
God and evolution : creation, evolution and the Bible by 
