School of Medicine: Home

EBSCOhost- is a multidisciplinary database offering a variety of popular proprietary research full-text databases, e-books, and e-journals from leading information providers.

Limpopo Policy Research Repository- is a repository for government policy instruments and research reports or outcomes. Supports and assists policymakers, analysts, researchers, evaluators, and planners to retrieve relevant government documentation easily.

ProQuest Ebook Central- A collection of resources providing full-text information on all subject areas.

ProQuest Journals- A collection of resources providing full-text information on all subject areas.

Sabinet- is a multidisciplinary database with a focus on the Southern African continent.

Sabinet Medicine and Health Journals- is a full-text collection with trade and scholarly publications relating to medicine and health. It includes publications relating to fields of disability, general health, health profession education, illnesses, nursing and many more.

SAGE Research Methods - is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.

ScienceDirect- is a multidisciplinary database focusing on  Scientific resources in Physical Sciences; Engineering; Life Sciences; Health Sciences; Social Sciences; Management; Accountancy and Humanities disciplines.

ScienceDirect eBooks- A collection of resources providing full-text information on all subject areas.

Taylor & Francis- The Expert Collection is the world's largest series of review journals in research, development, and clinical medicine.

UpToDate- is a subscription-based resource designed to provide physicians access to current clinical information.

Wiley Online Library- is one of the largest and most authoritative collections of online journals, books, and research resources, covering life, health, social, and physical ...

The Institutional Repository houses the electronic thesis and dissertations. The Institutional Repository archives and provides open access to digitised special collections and research materials of the University of Limpopo and affiliated institutes. To access the repository, click the link  ULSpace

The Library is embarking on Bibliographic Instruction (BI) programme that will run throughout the year. BI is an instructional program designed to teach Library users how to search and retrieve the information they need quickly and effectively. The training covers the Library's system of organising materials, and specific resources and finding tools such as Library catalogue, Library  Subject  databases, RefWorks (Reference organising tool), and Turnitin (plagiarism detection software).

The training is very essential for the production of high-quality research and therefore, amongst others, the training aims to achieve the following objectives

• To train Library users to be independent in searching for information
• To learn new skills and strategies to make effective use of online information
• To identify research aiding tools that offer the most comprehensive resources for research literature.
• To locate peer-reviewed journals that meet academic quality norms.
• To locate scholarly journals licensed from many of both local and international most prestigious academic publishers.
• To empower students with self-confidence to become lifelong learners.
• To enhance the quality of students’ academic work.
• Receive answers to any challenge they might be experiencing in the use of the Library

The training will take place as follows:

Date          : Every Friday
Time          : 09h00 - 13h00

Enquiries   : Mr. KS Shai
Telephone : 015 268 2958/2968
Email          : kgaogelo.shai@ul.ac.za