UL Library Systems, Applications and Online Services: Library Quick Search

The library home page enables clients to conduct keyword searches across all information resources that the library has acquired or subscribed to.  There are six ways of doing a UL library quick. Select one of the options at the top of the search box. The provided options work as follows:

1. WC Discovery - enables a search through 

Your search engine for searching across all print and online Library information resources, rather than limiting your serach to a particular type of resource. This  search include:

• Print and electronic books,
• Print and electronic journals,
• Online Articles,
• Library Catalogue,
• Print and electronic databases,
• and much more...

1. Repository - enables a search through the UL institutional repository. The repository archives and provides open access to digitised special collections and research materials of the University of Limpopo and affiliated institutes.
2. Catalogue - enables a search through the UL catalogue collection (printed and electronic books and other ibrary resources) 
3. Databases - enables access to our online databases
4. Exam Papers - enables browsing and access to the university's past exam question papers from 2010
5. Google Scholar - enables a search through a web search engine that indexes and provides access to scholarly literature across many disciplines.

Searching:

• Click inside the default provided search box

or

• Select the collection that you want to search from 

• Enter few keyword(s) into the search box.
• Click the search button   

Alternatively, you can do an Advanced Search with many more search options by clicking on the Advanced Search option under the search box on the front page.

With the Advanced Search option, you have various search indexes you can select and use to search. Click on the dropdown arrow to select your preferred search option or index.  If you like to limit your search further you can add additional search index by clicking on the 'Add Row\  button options.

Search search option or indexes to select from:

Search Results:

Filtering and refining search results:

After searching, you can refine your results by using the filters provided on the left handside to narrow down your search results. Refining your results will help to return the most relevant search results.

Available limiters/filters are shown below:

Note: If a limiter has its options hidden, please click on the provided arrows on the left side of the limiter to open its contents. Click on Show More to view other available options for that specific filter. 

For more information on how to search and refine your searches click here

Viewing search results: 

• Either click on the resource title or the view button (for e-resources only) 

• Select either of the provided 'View' options

or

• Select your preferred resource format 

• For print resources, check the status of the book, write down the complete call number, visit the library to request and borrow the book